Disclosure Details

Data Protection Breaches - 99/12

Dated: 07 Jun 2011

Date of request: 24/01/2012

Date of response: 20/02/2012

Provision of information held by Northumbria Police made under the Freedom of Information Act 2000 (the 'Act')(FOIA)

Thank you for your email dated 24 January 2012 in which you made a request for access to certain information which may be held by Northumbria Police.

As you may be aware the purpose of the Act is to allow a general right of access to information held by a Public Authority (including the Police), subject to certain limitations and exemptions.

You asked: 

"I would like to make a freedom of information request for the following information, covering the period June 1st 2011 – December 31st 2011:

  1. A list of all recorded instances of data protection breaches within your police force, e.g. unwarranted/unauthorised accessing of databases; misuse of personal information, etc.

  2. Accompanying information on what subsequent action was taken, e.g. no further action; disciplinary proceedings; criminal proceedings, etc.

I would like the request to cover both police officers and civilian staff."

In response:

We have now had the opportunity to fully consider your request and I provide a response for your attention.

Following receipt of your request, searches were conducted with the Professional Standards Department of Northumbria Police.  I can confirm that the information you have requested is held by Northumbria Police.

I have today decided to disclose the located information to you as follows.

The following information was extracted from  a Live database and may be subject to the addition and deletion of complaints, complainants and subjects after the initial extraction of data used for the purposes of this report. Data has been extracted based upon allegations and subjects attached to cases recorded between 01/06/2011 and 31/12/2011. Information has been filtered on allegations of Improper Disclosure of Information for Complaints and Confidentiality for Conducts. This search included allegations recorded against Police Officers, Special Constables, CSO’s and other police staff.

  1. 30 cases recorded.

  2. None of the completed cases resulted in disciplinary or criminal proceedings.

The information we have supplied to you is likely to contain intellectual property rights of Northumbria Police.  Your use of the information must be strictly in accordance with the Copyright Designs and Patents Act 1988 (as amended) or such other applicable legislation.  In particular, you must not re-use this information for any commercial purpose.


How to complain

If you are unhappy with our decision or do not consider that we have handled your request properly and we are unable to resolve this issue informally, you are entitled to make a formal complaint to us under our complaints procedure which can be found at: http://www.northumbria.police.uk/foi/disclosurelog/foicomprights.asp

If you are still unhappy after we have investigated your complaint and reported to you the outcome, you may complain directly to the Information Commissioner’s Office and request that they investigate to ascertain whether we have dealt with your request in accordance with the Act.

Downloads

FOI Complaint Rights Procedure_tcm4-28029