Disclosure Details

Direction and Control Complaints - 522/12

Dated: 07 Jun 2011

Date of request:      20/06/2012

Date of response:   11/07/2012

Provision of information held by Northumbria Police made under the Freedom of Information Act 2000 (the 'Act')(FOIA)

Thank you for your email dated  20th June 2012 in which you made a request for access to certain information which may be held by Northumbria Police.

As you may be aware the purpose of the Act is to allow a general right of access to information held by a Public Authority (including the Police), subject to certain limitations and exemptions.

You asked: 

1. Current (May 2012) version of the force Direction and Control  Complaints Procedure.

2. Numbers of recorded direction and control complaints in each  year since April 2005:

ie April 2005 – March 2006;
April 2006 – March 2007;
April 2007 – March 2008;
April 2008 – March 2009;
April 2009 – March 2010;
April 2010 – March 2011;
April 2011 – March 2012.
    
3. Outcomes of recorded direction and control complaints in each  year since April 2010:
a. Number re-recorded as a conduct matter;
b. Number which did not lead to further action;
c. Number which resulted in lessons learned;
d. Number which resulted in revision of policy; and
e. Number which resulted in Police Authority involvement.

In response:

We have now had the opportunity to fully consider your request and I provide a response for your attention.

Following receipt of your request, searches were conducted with the Professional Standard Department of Northumbria Police.  I can confirm that the information you have requested is held by Northumbria Police.

I have today decided to disclose the located information to you as follows.

Please see the below attached.

The information we have supplied to you is likely to contain intellectual property rights of Northumbria Police.  Your use of the information must be strictly in accordance with the Copyright Designs and Patents Act 1988 (as amended) or such other applicable legislation.  In particular, you must not re-use this information for any commercial purpose.


How to complain

If you are unhappy with our decision or do not consider that we have handled your request properly and we are unable to resolve this issue informally, you are entitled to make a formal complaint to us under our complaints procedure which can be found at: http://www.northumbria.police.uk/foi/disclosurelog/foicomprights.asp

If you are still unhappy after we have investigated your complaint and reported to you the outcome, you may complain directly to the Information Commissioner’s Office and request that they investigate to ascertain whether we have dealt with your request in accordance with the Act.

Downloads

FOI Complaint Rights Procedure_tcm4-28029
FOI 522-12_tcm4-63295
FOI 522-12 Direction and Control Complaints_tcm4-63296